Home » Sheila Lupson Healthy Communities Recognition Award


The purpose of this award is to recognize organizations, partnerships, or networks who have exemplified the key elements of the Healthy Communities approach in their work. The award was established in memory of Sheila Lupson, a long-time member of the OHCC board of directors, who passed away on April 28, 2009. Sheila was a dedicated community volunteer and advocate who was genuinely committed to building Healthy Communities.


To be eligible for consideration, nominees must be a group, organization, network or coalition (not an individual), that is working to strengthen the social, economic and environmental well-being of their community, using key elements of the Healthy Communities approach: i.e.: 

  • equitable community participation;
  • inter-sectoral partnerships;
  • political commitment;
  • healthy public policy; and
  • asset-based community development. 


Is there an organization that is helping to make your community a healthier place to live, work, or play? You can nominate them to be recognized at the AGM by submitting an
award nomination form.

Selection Process 

The OHCC Nominations Committee reviews the nominations. The group that most exemplifies Healthy Communities principles and practice will be presented with a recognition plaque at the Annual General Meeting. Other exemplary organizations will be given an honourable mention.

Past Recipients of the Sheila Lupson Healthy Communities Recognition Award:

2007 Woolwich Healthy Communities

2008 Community Quality Improvement, Sault Ste. Marie

2009 Renfrew County Child Poverty Action Committee

2010 London Community Resource Centre

2011 Conservation Council of Ontario

2012 Haliburton Communities in Action Committee

2014 Healthier Cities and Community Hub, University of Toronto

2015 Algoma Youth Engagement and Development Network

2016 East Scarborough Storefront

2017 Rural Ontario Institute